Inspiration: Ginny Grayson

You might think a portrait painter is an unlikely inspiration for me, but I have been teaching lots of classes based on portraits and came across this beautiful work.

ginny grayson 1

Ginny Grason is an artist from New Zealand, now living in Melbourne. I always love the process of someone’s work being evident and the ghostly drawn lines tell the story of its making.

ginny 3

Sometimes it is the negative spaces; knowing when to leave parts out that makes a drawing breath.This is something I yet to master. Grayson does it beautifully.

GG6

ginnygrayson2-copy

Funnily enough I came across this Picasso quote today (other lesson planning):

” I begin with an idea and then it becomes something else”

I kind of like the idea of a drawing or painting having its own character to be discovered. When I paint I never have a clear image in mind. I really just have an idea of the mood I want it to have. I am often surprised by the look of a painting I make, but not the feel.

If you would like to see more of this beautiful work it is here.

In the meantime I am going to get my charcoal out, who knows what will appear..

About julia33

I am a painter and printmaker from Hebden Bridge in West Yorkshire. I am inspired by nature and the changing seasons.I also make bespoke wedding stationery and teach art to all ages.
This entry was posted in Drawing, Inspiration, Shop and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

