End of Road Festival

This month began with the End of the Road Festival.It was the first time I had been to this and the first holiday for me in absolutely ages!

Having done a pretty relentless programme of Glastonburys, Readings and V Festivals in my youth, I was intrigued to see how this smaller festival would fare. I was also quite relieved to be going to something more manageable.

eotr-7

So the trip began with me driving down to Dorset with my good friend Lisa and her other half. I hadn’t driven for ages so  was terrified at the thought. After lots of encouragement from these guys I managed it ..and felt so proud of myself!

The festival was really well organised and there were clean toilets, showers available (not much of a queue for early risers) and tasty food stalls.

The first few days I felt a bit twitchy as I had been working so much for my exhibition, this leisure time was an unknown! So I was relieved that I could do life drawing..

eotr6

The surroundings were really beautiful, with a sunken garden and peacocks wandering around.

eotr3

There were special touches everywhere, magical decorations, surprise things to do, even a recording studio in the woods.

eotr-8

 

eotr

img_20160903_191210

Lisa and the balloon bit!

eotr-11

But the best thing was seeing live bands, this is where I didn’t take many photographs, erm too busy dancing…

eotr4

I did take one of Amber Arcades and really enjoyed their set. Other highlights were; Kevin Morby, Basia Bulat, Broken Social Scene,Whitney, Oscar, Field Music, Thee Oh Sees, Bat for Lashes and of course Joanna Newsom!

The best thing was seeing live bands but…there was also a Disco Boat every night!  I had serious withdrawal symptoms from this. The loud and quiet magazine’s dj set might be the best disco I have ever been to.

I would definitely go to this festival again and so I remember for next year here are things that I didn’t take that I wished I had:

  1. A scarf or head band-my hair did not respond well to the rain, dancing and wind.
  2. A selection of hats (see above).
  3. More dressy clothes-I went very practical and wished I had packed a few pretty things especially for the disco boat.
  4. More clothes in general-it rained a lot and it was hard to dry stuff.

Things I took that were a good idea:

  1. Wellies
  2. A waterproof
  3. Blanket
  4. A very warm jumper
  5. Lots of snacks
  6. Dry shampoo.

Here is to the next one!

How was your September?

About julia33

I am a painter and printmaker from Hebden Bridge in West Yorkshire. I am inspired by nature and the changing seasons.I also make bespoke wedding stationery and teach art to all ages.
This entry was posted in music, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

