Charlotte Bronte’s birthday celebrations

On the 21st of April it was the 200th anniversary of Charlotte Bronte’s birthday. I have been teaching drop in workshops at the parsonage, so I was asked to plan a birthday craft session.

I have always loved the quote from Jane Eyre:

“I am no bird;and no net ensnares me:I am a free human being with an independent will”

so after researching I found a good card template here which looked like this;

bronte card

and fit with idea of freedom in the quote.

When I got to the school room in Haworth it looked so pretty.The flowers had been arranged on a workshop taught  by simply by arrangement and looked great. The West Yorkshire Playhouse were there singing songs to showcase their Bronte season that is coming up in Autumn, a must see if the beautiful songs were anything to go by.

bronte birthday

bronte birth2

The sun shone all day!

bronte4

bronte 8

bronte 5

and lots of birthday cards for Charlotte were made and decorated.

I got quite caught up with the day and didn’t end up taking that many photographs but there was cake, plays,poetry and music to name a few things.

I will be at the parsonage on the 1st of June with another craft workshop, pop in and visit this very special place if you can.

About julia33

I am a painter and printmaker from Hebden Bridge in West Yorkshire. I am inspired by nature and the changing seasons.I also make bespoke wedding stationery and teach art to all ages.
This entry was posted in Bronte Parsonage, Workshops and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

