Commission; African themed painting

I paint, print and draw a lot, but time passes and much more often than not I have not shared anything on here. I am hoping to address this with some new posts of my ‘secret’ commissions.

First up is a lovely commission I did for a couple called Matthew and Joanna. They contacted me when they had spotted my painting; ‘Enjoying the Warmth’ on my website.

enjoying the warmth(1)

They wanted a painting similar to this but to include background images that had resonance for them. They had spent a lot of time in Africa and wanted this to be the theme of the painting. They asked me to include baobab trees (amazing and strange shaped trees) that would remind them of their marriage ceremony; as they exchanged vows under a tree. They slept under the stars, so I drew those. They spent six months living on a sailing boat so I included a dhow boat as a symbol of that.

joanna commission

The sketchy images in the background included all of these things, (although not shown so well on my image) and it was a great commission for me to do.

About julia33

I am a painter and printmaker from Hebden Bridge in West Yorkshire. I am inspired by nature and the changing seasons.I also make bespoke wedding stationery and teach art to all ages.
This entry was posted in Paintings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

